Color schemes for programming

Are they a meme or not? Personally i think they help a lot but there are so many people saying things like "i've been programming for 30 years and my editor is black on white and it JUST WORKS"

Other urls found in this thread:

github.com/chriskempson/tomorrow-theme
vimcolors.com
vimcolors.com/528/monokai/dark
twitter.com/NSFWRedditGif

The answer is yes

I just use vim with syntax off, syntax highlighting triggers muh autism

github.com/chriskempson/tomorrow-theme

Leuven is really excellent.

Anything dark is massively better because I already have awful sight at 20 and I don't want to be blind by 50.

If you're worried about your sight make sure to use a darker theme AND a big font.
Using a small font to appear 1337 is fucking retarded.

I use Solarized. I haven't really put much thought into it, I tried a bunch and Solarized seem like the best of them. Black on white is too bright to be staring at it all day and white on black is a crime against humanity.

I personally prefer Gruvbox, easy on the eyes.

I use Deeper Blue in emacs.

Try it for yourself. I use dark themes exclusively. I have some vision problems and dark themes plus redshift are a godsend. I'd still use them even if I had perfect vision because it's just comfier.

One thing I learned about oldfags is that they still think spaces > tabs, which is why I tend not to give a shit about any of their shit taste in style and aesthetics and formatting.

Currently tweaking mine, anything need immediate fixing?

Black background.
Get rid of cold colours.
Pastel colours are okay, avoid glossy.

If you have a ""modern laptop"" with a 1337x752 screen resolution then you have to use small fonts to make do with the available screen real estate.