STAIRS in video games

youtube.com/watch?v=VYmvoE2YbSY

4 FUCKING ENGINES….. AND STILL COULDN'T FIX THE STAIRS TO ACT LIKE REAL STAIRS.

Other urls found in this thread:

seesinc.com/blog/elevators-in-video-games/
twitter.com/AnonBabble

Killer7 is the only game that got stairs right ever.

what's the issue with it? lack of foot IK or not being able to climb the ladder?

AND ELEVATORS

seesinc.com/blog/elevators-in-video-games/

I remember GTA IV and V doing stairs right.

Are you retarded? I don't even like unreal but this is not an engine specific thing.

Do elevators that teleport you instead of move up/down have any advantage outside of feeling smoother in multiplayer games?

loading assets, less moving colliders to worry about, and it's just a little bit faster to set up if im not mistaken

I'm no expert but I am pretty sure it has everything to do with devs being too lazy to include proper collision detail for the stairs/animations for character and instead they just have them function like ramps, so it is not a limit of the engine but laziness of developers.
Tl;Dr
Blame the jews.

Does anyone else ever read this as:

Good goy.

He said it was speculation. Chill your autism, my dude.

I don't think so, no.

non-ramp stairs don't work in first person games, they just make you feel sick. embed related talks about that, although it's very CS-centric, you get a feel of what non-ramped stairs are like

Why are ladders always a pain in the ass to deal with in first-person shooters?

half-life 2 had it perfect with E acting as a mount/dismount which depending on if your collision box was half over the nearest platform, it would dismount you to that platform very smoothly.

ramps are lazy and look weird.
I get why people might want them on a multiplayer shooter where jolts can make a difference but in most games I would prefer no ramps so as to not risk breaking immersion by seeming to float