Battlefleet Gothic Armada

Is this game worth buying?

I'm a pretty big 40k fan, but I have little experience with naval videogames. Reviews on steam seem to be fairly mixed.

See >>9747299

It depends, if you are a fan of the Warhammer universe, like Space Ships, and fucking want to purge the Heresy, get it. It also has a good story that's pretty lengthily.

It's not worth it right now. The multiplayer balance is tremendously fucked and Eldar are basically God Mode, and this unbalance creeps into the singleplayer campaign since there are randomly generated missions to keep the Gothic sector under control, and some will feature you vs. unkillable, uncatchable and invulnerable space elves

It definitely is. One of the best fleet simulators out there, plus very good WH40k feel (watch the trailers and you'll know what I mean)

Maybe you're just shit, because in SP campaign, I demolished the Eldar every time.

Are you sure about that? I just saw the latest patch notes and the Eldar didn't seem to recieve anything that looked like a massive nerf. I've heard your type of comment before though.

What's the maximum number of ships I could field?

You had a point limit, with bigger ships costing more. So, if you fielded the biggest ships you could, often as few as three. If you decided to field the smallest, I think at least a dozen, if not more.

I'll probably buy it after work tonight. Sounds fun.

How viable, and which faction is best suited to, a dozen low cost ships? I want fast raiding swarms that basically control like dog-fighters.

Fast raiders sound like Eldar. They need to pretty much constantly zoom across the map at max speed

Maybe you should consult the 3 other threads already in the catalog?