Horror Games

I started playing Pic related for the first time last night, and I have to say, horror wise, I'm not spooped, and I'm kinda disappointed, because as nice as mysterious mansion with puzzles and mystery is, I was hoping for a horror game that was actually going to scare me

so tell me Holla Forums what are some legitimately scary horror games that don't rely on shit like jumpscares?

Other urls found in this thread:

youtube.com/watch?v=LaNLZefi-K4
youtube.com/watch?v=SFVufWdP4YI
youtube.com/watch?v=d-94T9Lb1FU&list=PLE9667CC95C1A1ED7&index=2
twitter.com/SFWRedditGifs

As far as I know, there are none. I have never played any scary games that got me with anything but a split second of surprise via cheap jumpscares.

i hope you picked the "hardest" difficulty, because its actually normal mode. im normally in favor of players choosing whatever theyre comfortable with, but in this game it will seriously impact your experience with the game.
how far are you into the game?
a lot of the "horror" comes from not knowing whats in the next room and running low on resources. or being over 30 min into the game without having saved. you get the idea.

it has few jumpscares and the remake is atmospheric as hell - so what exactly else do you want from a horror-ish game?

i found silent hill 2 to be pretty scary, but reading your post: maybe survival horror just isnt for you. you dont seem to like (or even acknowledge) the parts that make up the genre or are generally enjoyed in the package.
i also liked the spooked beach house in vampire bloodlines - but maybe im just easier to pull in on atmosphere than you. the soundtrack of the game did wonders for me.