CIAnigger Trojan Detection

In light of the recent CIAnigger leaks, I was thinking about how it might be possible to check if you're compromised.

One thought that I had is that we have an application that takes a SHA256 hash of every .so and executable file on the OS.

This is then checked against a database that contains distribution specific SHA256 hashes to see if the files match.

Would something like this be feasible? This check could be run once a day or whatever.

Anything that doesn't match could be flagged as suspicious.

Other urls found in this thread:

8ch.net/pol/res/9442649.html#q9456917
twitter.com/AnonBabble

I'm no virus expert, but, I can consider the following idea to foil your plan if I was a virus maker. This presupposes your machine is infected: have the virus be made of two active components A and B. Both have some field in memory designated and randA and randB, respectively. This files can constantly communicate to tell each other to generate a new random value in the given field, thus the file is always changing SHA (or, at least, often enough that you can't compile any reasonable database).

jsut assume you're compromised

The idea is that you're checking against your Distro's SHA256 file hashes. What it would essentially signify if that you're not running the .so or executable that your distro provides you with (thus the file was either installed by you or is otherwise suspicious).

To foil this, I imagine the Trojan could be rigged to give a false matching SHA256 hash for the infected file.

But, perhaps a Live USB stick could be booted to run this check?

Not saying that it'd still be flawless, but I imagine a firmware implant would be needed to corrupt the booted USB stick?

Also, I was meant to post this on Holla Forums.

Apologies for the mistake.

1. Uninstall Windows, go full linux (not ubuntu).
2. Stop caring about kiddie video games.
3. If intel user - switch to AMD as soon as possible.
4. Don't use chrome or Wine.