Per-application users on desktop

Is there any existing GNU/Linux distro (or *BSD, whatever) that is configured by default to execute each userland application under a different "user" and does that seamlessly? So as to not cause massive PITA for the user but gain safety advantages (each application may only touch what it's allowed to touch and nothing more)
Similarly to how Android does that, but supporting real desktop-tier software, like Audacity, GIMP, programming IDEs, etc.

Configuring that myself is not an option, it's a fucking minefield and I'm not an expert in system administration, I'm a regular code monkey so I will absolutely miss something critical or just fail completely

Other urls found in this thread:

support.google.com/nexus/answer/2865483?hl=en
source.android.com/devices/tech/admin/multi-user
firejail.wordpress.com/
lwn.net/Articles/531114/
github.com/subgraph/oz/issues/11#issuecomment-163396758
github.com/xairy/kernel-exploits/blob/master/CVE-2017-7308/poc.c
kernsec.org/wiki/index.php/Kernel_Self_Protection_Project/Recommended_Settings#sysctls
openwall.com/lists/kernel-hardening/2017/12/05/13
lkml.org/lkml/2015/12/12/259
utcc.utoronto.ca/~cks/space/blog/linux/UserNamespacesWhySecurityProblems
twitter.com/NSFWRedditVideo

Android only has to support one user at a time. There's no multi-user processing on an Android computer. This is how Android can get away with that system. Traditional Unix systems don't work that way.

Wrong, recent versions of Android have some support for multiple users, as in multiple people.

Can you point me to the API documentation for this.

support.google.com/nexus/answer/2865483?hl=en
this is what I could immediately find.
not sure about API, which one do you mean?

source.android.com/devices/tech/admin/multi-user
more details about that

I think this is not compatible with X, because apps can access each other through that. Android uses SurfaceFlinger which is more like Wayland.