auth0.com/blog/beating-json-performance-with-protobuf/
netrunner.cc/
twitter.com/SFWRedditImages

not an argument

still here

if your going to start from scratch why start from scratch with bloat

fuck off

/g/ user detected.

I am really happy someone is doing this. Thank you for all your hard work. Don't let negativity demotivate you. No matter if the end result is able to compete with mainstream browsers it is still a solution to escape WebKit/Blink/Gecko hellhole.

I am not a developer, but if I were making my own web browser I would only make basic rendering engine + ES5 JS engine. Everything else like bookmark manager, password manager, history, downloads would be implemented in some kind of API for plugins (maybe Lua?)
The whole GUI would be minimalistic, maybe just tabs, everything else would be accessible from integrated "drop-up" terminal like in qutebrowser. Mostly because this could be finished at some point and maintained without getting bloated and abandoned.

There's already a Linux distribution and a TCG called Netrunner.

I actually really like servo. The project accomplishes what I set out to do when making netrunner, except it is a full browser engine. That is why I stopped developing netrunner.

Not an argument.

back to /g/

kys

>>>/out/

Dead on arrival. The web has become so bloated that it's impossible to create a rendering engine without massive funding. You're better off taking an existing rendering engine and building your browser around that. Have a layer between browser and engine so you can swap out the engine. If the browser catches on you could then work on your own engine and eventually swap it in.

Why don't make new web? We need new protocol, new website standard (something that isn't html) and new browser for all that. We need to cut ourself from bloated www and only by doing something new we can accomplish that.

you could potentially embed a new protocol in netrunner.

It's literally plaintext