FPGA General

What do you guys recommend for experimenting with FPGA's? I know very little about hardware design at this point, but with an extensive programming background I should be able to pickup VHDL or Verilog very quickly. As a hobbyist, I'd just be designing toy projects, but perhaps you guys have experience working on bigger projects and can share some ideas.

As an example, this looks very decent, and would probably last me a while, but perhaps you can shill for a better alternative.
store.digilentinc.com/nexys-4-ddr-artix-7-fpga-trainer-board-recommended-for-ece-curriculum/ (Pic related)

While I'm starting this as a question, since we do not have any FPGA or EE posts, let this serve as a general thread.

Other urls found in this thread:

clifford.at/icestorm/
latticesemi.com/icestick
github.com/bqlabs/icestudio
xilinx.com/products/intellectual-property/ef-di-25gemac.html
terasic.com.tw/cgi-bin/page/archive.pl?CategoryNo=17&Language=English&No=830&PartNo=1
opencores.org/projects
store.digilentinc.com/basys-3-artix-7-fpga-trainer-board-recommended-for-introductory-users/
store.digilentinc.com/analog-discovery-2-student-bundle/
embeddedmicro.com/mojo-v3.html
xilinx.com/products/boards-and-kits/1-3i2dfk.html
embeddedmicro.com/tutorials/mojo-fpga-beginners-guide
store.digilentinc.com/zybo-z7-zynq-7000-arm-fpga-soc-development-board/
youtube.com/watch?v=UeatDM-sp8U
twitter.com/NSFWRedditGif

Anything iCE. You can synthesise it with FOSS.
clifford.at/icestorm/
latticesemi.com/icestick
github.com/bqlabs/icestudio

This, but to be clear it's not everything iCE. It's specifically the iCE40 chipset. It's the only FPGA with a completely FOSS verilog to bitstream toolchain.

Open source hardware? Oy vey!!! How long before that is shut down? T-t-he goyim c-can't build a RISC processor with that can they???

Software programming and stuff like VHDL and verilog while looking similar, require a different mindeset and approach of designing the code.