Mastering Linux HowTo

So I've been using casually for about a 3-4 years, but haven't really become a master yet and I'd like to change that.

Obviously the first step is installing Gentoo, so I'm doing that today, but any other tips or advice for learning would be welcome.

Other urls found in this thread:

github.com/JohnnyHobo/ArkOS32/
arkos32.readthedocs.io/en/latest/
admin.com/,
twitter.com/NSFWRedditVideo

As an example, I installed Arch as a nice stepping stone from Debian but really only learned to type in pacman instead of apt-get. I'd really like to learn the nuts and bolts and be able to apply what I learn to my own problems I encounter, rather than needing help for a every little task I attend (as is my current state).

Make sure you understand all commands you run, with the guidance of man pages and search engines. When you need help, do your own research.
That's it. No gentoo necessary. Can be frustrating, though.

The power user stuff really comes with experience, not marginally-more-ricer distros. Make shell scripts, schedule cronjobs, learn what all the system folders are there for. These will teach you more than distro hopping. Portage is not a whole lot different than Arch in practice aside from use flags, which results in little practical difference in the end.

Digging into debug output and logs when things break will only get you so far, unless you learn the ins and outs of every major piece of software. (You won't, and you shouldn't try to.) At best, it should tell you which piece of the puzzle is broken and should be replaced, rolled back, etc. If you've installed an Arch system from scratch, there's not much else Gentoo can teach you.

Is it obvious? What do you think installing Gentoo will do for you?

If you're not learning to drive in a Ford, buying a Chevy won't change anything. Distro-hopping won't help you learn Linux.

This insecurity about arch... systemd cancer