Safe ways to remove sensitive data?

Good day, dear Holla Forums.

At the beginning of my message I would like to mention that I am an absolute novice in the technical field and have little or no experience. Nonetheless, I'd like to ask you what you think is the safest way to completely erase an external hard drive with all the data. Restore should no longer be possible.

I use Lubuntu as the operating system and have already tried my luck with shred (for example: sudo shred -vn 10 /dev/sda). However, I do not know if that is enough to delete everything irretrievably.

I ask for your help and would be happy to receive helpful answers.

Many thanks in advance and all the best.

Other urls found in this thread:

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Black_hole_information_paradox
sourceforge.net/projects/dban/
cgsecurity.org/wiki/PhotoRec
dban.org/
twitter.com/NSFWRedditVideo

Overwrite your encrypted volume's header

Magnet if SSD or disk destroyer writing 0's to the drive if HDD. You could use the magnet on the HDD too put it is bigger pain in the ass.

Technically your could recover data from the HDD if it has a cache on the circuit board, so check for that or just destroy the circuit board and replace it. SSD's you best not miss anything when physically destroying it with a magnet. That includes the circuit boards for it.

Ever? Because then the answer is to pulverize it with a sledgehammer.

Either use badblock check disk command with the write-mode option which will erase either sectors with a pattern and check it four times or DBAN (Darik's Boot and Nuke) and do a simple pass erase.
Anyway if you want to protect yourself from government instances the only way is to melt the platters of the HDD.
They melt towards 700°c just like aluminum and they loose their magnetic moment at high temperature.
Has for ssds and chip memory the only way is to burn them into charcoal dust (very toxic).