Is is a good idea to get involved with Rust?

Hi, Holla Forums.

After years and years of webdev I've decided that I need a change of pace. This time I want to manage memory myself like all other big boys. As a web developer I've naturally searched for newest, hottest tech and discovered rust.

On one side it has a lower barrier to entry than C++ - it's smaller, doesn't suffer from having several standards and probably has a vision behind its design.

But on the other its community seems to have a bit of SJW infestation and that's not something I want to deal with in open-source project. It's even worse because their crate infrastructure is centralized and managed by same people.

So how bad is it? Should I expect to see Rust project going down the drain in a couple of years because of political grandstanding?

Other urls found in this thread:

en.wikipedia.org/wiki/D_(programming_language)
mitpress.mit.edu/sicp/full-text/book/book.html
youtube.com/watch?v=EBK5aKOr2Fw
doc.crates.io/source-replacement.html
google.com/search?q="steve klabnik"&num=100&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X
port70.net/~nsz/c/c89/c89-draft.html
doc.rust-lang.org/reference/
jsoftware.com/papers/APLDictionary.htm
people.inf.ethz.ch/wirth/Oberon/Oberon07.Report.pdf
open-std.org/jtc1/sc22/wg14/www/docs/n1256.pdf
open-std.org/jtc1/sc22/wg14/www/docs/n1570.pdf
twitter.com/SFWRedditVideos

tl;dr, no

kys

I know I should. Just need a critical amount of segmentation fault errors to muster the bravery.

I've wondered about something similar myself, seems like a hard call. The idea seems good, the implementation is controversial, the community is cancer.

All in all the two negatives does that I'm holding off on Rust. I'd say go with something else and give it a couple of years to see if it crashes.

yeah it's bretty good

It's about fucking time.
> As a web developer I've naturally searched for newest, hottest tech
AKA trash
AKA SJW trash
it's totally SJW don't go further than that.