Cicada 3301 - Who is behind this "organization"?

Good day, dear Holla Forums.

At the beginning of my message I would like to mention that I am an absolute novice in the technical field and have little or no experience. Nevertheless, I would like to ask a few questions about a topic that interests me for a long time. Of course only if you allow me that.

It is about the group called "Cicada 3301", which I noticed a few years ago. At first, I thought it was just a couple of teenagers bothering companies (for example, spam and/or DDoS attacks). Either because of boredom, fun, attention or money. But after a while, I discovered blogs, videos, and contributions from people who were fascinated by the abilities of this group and believed that it might be intelligence agencies like Mossad, NSA, MI5, MI6, GCHQ. No matter how long I searched for solutions on the Internet, no one seemed to be able to solve the puzzle. On various websites you could read several titles like "Cicada 3301: I tried the hardest puzzle on the internet and failed spectacularly".

Not only the technical skills were impressive, but also their knowledge about occultism, esoterism and "spirituality".

I would be very interested in your opinion and if you can tell us something about this group. Perhaps you could solve the puzzle and know more. Would be nice to read a few helpful and informative messages, if you want to help.

Other urls found in this thread:

github.com/the-laughing-monkey/cicada-platform
youtube.com/watch?v=svJF_FoSI9o
gizmodo.com.au/2016/11/cicada-3301-behind-the-internets-most-mysterious-crytographic-puzzles/
twitter.com/SFWRedditVideos

Probably because whatever government organization behind this recruitment process has a strict no disclosure policy if you actually solve the thing.

ARG shitpost