Conflicting Ideas

So this is my first time making a thread, and I wanted to get some opinions/advice on what to do about this little predicament I'm in.

Which brings me to my little problem. I have a story I want to revise, but it's kind of hard, considering I've already devoted everything to "le evil lampshade Nazi may may". I'm trying to soften that idea, so I'm wondering if anyone has any writing advice on revising an old piece of work.

Make it a sci-fi Utopian story where there really IS a holocaust, complete with lamp shades and shrunken heads.

That sounds interesting user, but this thread simply doesn't belong on this board, you can go right on ahead and post it on 4chan

Polite sage

Pull a Kojima and say it was all virtual reality made by allies in order to brainwash enemy troops.

Change all instances of nazism to communism.

Just trash it. You won't be able to salvage it without rewriting everything, especially considering how different the story will be. If you seriously consider yourself a writer then don't take something you wrote in high school as the foundation for your new work, assuming that your writing skills have improved over the course of seven years.

Don't be afraid to start over. I have. I was writing something out of high school but I put that on hold for a long time. Turns out I would drastically change the plot compared to what it was in my early 20s although the underlining theme of romance and tragedy is unchanged.

Make your "Nazis" sympathetic and vindicate them in the end even if they remain dark and do things people consider morally wrong. In other words, it should end tragically, not some happy "yay our diverse rebellion defeated the evil fascists, lets all party!" nonsense. A tragic end is more powerful than the happy ending.

Start over
The changes you'd have to make would be so fundamental that you're basically rewriting the whole thing anyways