MS pulls the plug on their phone OS

RIP Windows Phone.

Microsoft has announced the end of support for WP8.1 with W10mobile effectively put in end-of-life care.

Why did it fail though? I've had no personal experience myself with the OS other than briefly fingerfucking a lumia some years back and thinking "what the fuck is the point of windows if it can't run win32 programs?" and all these obituaries currently being published don't go into any detail on why WP failed, only that it did.

Other urls found in this thread:

communities-dominate.blogs.com/
archive.is/VAPOX
youtube.com/watch?v=z1DnMn7P1oU
twitter.com/SFWRedditImages

Briefly owned a Lumia 880(?)
Well at first it seemed fine but it wasn't super stable.
They did something to their store which meant it wasn't easy to port applications across so it was a ghost town.
It was slow.
It bailed during calls. Literally crashed.

Tossed it and got an Android.

Honestly while the Lumia was sleek and nice phone it OS made it a piece of shit.

Lumia was like the only worthwhile WP
No apps*

*le ebig fart apps

My dad plans to buy a new phone when it ceases to function. I hope he'll let me try to install a Linux distro on it first. He probs won't though.

and nothing of value was lost

This

I have one lying around, I don't know if was the os or the hardware but here's some stunts it would pull.

After that fucking shitshow I was willing to use anything the fuck else other than that. Then my phone company said "So you need a new phone, iphone7 you need some botne- you need a quality phone." After this I'm just going to fucking use burner phones, I'm tired of this fucking shitshow.

wtf I hate Industrial Design now

Chinks make many highly competetive smart phones if that's what you need, just install whatever OS you like and you're golden.