Good German literature for a novice speaker

I'm posting this thread to ask for any suggestions anyone might have for good, simple German literature to read so that I can build my language skills. I'm only half-German and I've lived in the USA for most of my life, but I've always had somewhere between a beginner and intermediate level of German speaking and understanding. Recently I began practicing using Rosetta Stone a bit, drilling the grammar rules into my head and practicing pronunciation. I know on a mental level how to pronounce German, but you have to practice with a foreign language or else it feels like you're speaking with a mouth full of peanut butter and you'll probably sound that way too.
Rambling aside, I was hoping for something that's fairly simple in nature. Not kindergarten level – again, I'm not a total beginner, but stuff that's great for increasing your vocabulary and refining your understanding of the language. Maybe the equivalent of 6th-8th grade (middle school or pre-high school) reading level? Preferably, of course, something that's not pozzed to oblivion.

Yeah I don't think that's going to happen. Stopping every two seconds to look up political and philosophical terminology probably isn't going to be very effective.

Other urls found in this thread:

thepiratebay.org/torrent/6566279/German_Graded_Readers_Collection_-_88_Books
thepiratebay.org/torrent/7672906/German_Graded_Readers_Collection_Vol._2
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Common_European_Framework_of_Reference_for_Languages
rutracker.org/forum/viewforum.php?f=1580
rutracker.org/forum/viewforum.php?f=1266
youtu.be/F6pk1lVMl_M
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grimms'_Fairy_Tales#List_of_fairy_tales
lyrics.wikia.com
lyrics.wikia.com/wiki/Faun
twitter.com/SFWRedditVideos

there are a lot of stories regarding furries

Try some graded readers (with audio):

thepiratebay.org/torrent/6566279/German_Graded_Readers_Collection_-_88_Books

thepiratebay.org/torrent/7672906/German_Graded_Readers_Collection_Vol._2