Hi Holla Forums

Hi Holla Forums.
I have little experience encoding videos with high sucess in my result.
I encoded a video, failed in getting it how I wanted, tried again, failed and so and so until finally I did it. And I've been testing and making experiments and shit with new videos.
But mostly I don't know what I'm doing so I want to create this thread so I and if anyone elses can gatter new info an experience.

So I got "Oban Star-Racers" recently and got it encoded like crap.
Shit wouldn't play on anything or will have sync problems, the total bitrate was huge for such little data rate, so I decided to fix it and did it.
But since I now wanted to fix it's resolution to (712x572 to 720x576) I decided to research and see how more efficient could I make it.
I learned some stuff and among that more questions appeared.

I would understand it if it was 3D+48fps but no. My guess is that they go full "Level 5.2" and "High 4:4:4"
So is it really worth it? There's no doubt that official Blu-Ray's look somewhat better than any under-3.5GB counterpart in torrents but is it really worth it pumping them to 2GB per episode?
Talking about being worth it. 10-bit MKV yay or nay?

excellent taste

it could just be stretched video from 720, they do that shit a lot with anime apparently
do some research on that first

I don't really mean about resolution.
Like if I compressed a 18Mb/s movie from a Blu-Ray to let's say 5000kb/s, which is the average data rate on fHD movies from Torrents (that look just as good anyways) will it suffer a quality downgrade?

I want to learn how to encode by quality approximation.
As up today I've been using avg. Bitrate, and while's a safer bet, from time to time it shows its deficiencies.
Like while I was encoding Mystery Incorporated, first I got it on 720p and this is the only TV series at 720 I've seen that goes up to 5000kbs avg. bitrate, later I got it on 1080p and it was at 8000kbps now.