RAID

I've never done RAID before. I was planning on getting started on it by making some backup server, speed is not the main goal, but being sure that data won't get corrupted on it, so maybe having BTRFS on a spare machine or something and 3 or 4 large HDDs in RAID 5, but since I've never done it I thought I'd ask.

What do you use to keep it low power running 24/7? (A single-board computer would be ideal, but none have more than one SATA port or USB 3.0... speeds would be abysmal)

Also, what happens when one drive fails? I'd wish to set it up to have a red LED or something and just swap the disk (I could code this much, I guess).

If you have some RAID server at home, how did you do it? Do you just buy some hardware controller?

Get a Xeon D board and use zfs with raidz2 with 6 HDDs (one for each SATA port) and one m.2 ssd for OS, programs. Also, get 64 GB of ram.

Ironic shitposting is still shitposting.

Xeon D are low power and have 10Gb ethernet ports which is nice for a NAS device.
The server can then be used for a firewall and personal webserver as well without breaking a sweat.

Also, I only suggested M.2 because I suggested he use up all 6 SATA ports.
A thumbdrive could be used too, but it wouldn't be useful as a data cache for frequently requested files.

Finally, the 64GB of ram is because zfs is notoriously ram hungery.
I've heard the rule of thumb is ~1GB per TB in your array, so if he has, say, six 8TB drives, that's 48GB of ram needed, and since ram comes in powers of two for most boards, that would be 64 GB. I suppose 32GB might work.

That's the config I'd make for a small company's backup server. I'm talking about home use.

Pic related is my current backup server. I'm almost fine with the speed, I just want the peace of mind of "my backups will surely still be there and an LED will blink if I need to swap a bad disk".

If all you want is peace of mind just get another USB HDD and mirror it.

This.