Where did the "BSD is only for servers!" meme come from?

Where did the "BSD is only for servers!" meme come from?

I'm studying computer music at the moment and sndio is so much easier to use than Linux shit like ALSA or Pulseaudio.

It seems to me that BSD is far more empowering to creative people. Linux is more geared towards passive consumption of media (more proprietary drivers, corporate-backed obfuscation layers, etc.)

Other urls found in this thread:

breitbart.com/tech/2016/01/01/freebsd-community-breathes-sigh-of-relief-as-toxic-activist-randi-harper-finally-quits/
freebsd.org/doc/handbook/
github.com/SteamOnFreeBSD/SteamOnFreeBSD
github.com/mtorromeo/r8168/blob/master/src/r8168_n.c#L7790
forums.mydigitallife.info/threads/28669-Microsoft-Toolkit-Official-KMS-Solution-for-Microsoft-Products
sndio.org/arch/0002.html
phoronix.com/scan.php?page=article&item=ubuntu-1510-virt
openports.se/security/wpa_supplicant
man.openbsd.org/OpenBSD-current/man5/hostname.if.5
github.com/dspinellis/unix-history-repo
forums.freebsd.org/threads/21040/
wiki.freebsd.org/TuningPowerConsumption
freebsd.org/
download.freebsd.org/ftp/releases/ISO-IMAGES/11.0/
freebsd.org/doc/en/handbook/
twitter.com/NSFWRedditVideo

Yes I'd like to upsize

you didnt take red pill didnt you, linux will always be better than BSD, and BSD have shitty license, anybody can just take your code and do whatever they want with it, also drivers are shit

I'm a teacher actually.

Just because you graduate doesn't mean you stop studying things you like.

Drivers are not BSD's fault. If the company won't open-source them, what can they do?

Your argument is like shitting on a sports car because it won't take diesel. Use supported hardware. It's not rocket surgery.

BSD is only for servers comes from two things:
1. Their niceness and kernels are not geared towards what people like out of Desktops.

2. They don't have the driver support for anyone to run BSD on their PC.