I've recently had a chance to try Manjaro and in my opinion it is a pretty solid OS...

I've recently had a chance to try Manjaro and in my opinion it is a pretty solid OS. I've been using Xubuntu for a couple of years now and want to try something else.

Does Holla Forums have any recommendations/favorites?

Other urls found in this thread:

forum.manjaro.org/t/im-fed-up-about-manjaro-is-insecure-unprofessional-discussions/5536
gnu.org/distros/free-distros.html
twitter.com/NSFWRedditGif

Manjaro fan here.

I used windows all my life and a few months back I completely switched to linux, manjaro. I had a background in distro-usage and got everything running without a hitch. I recommend you switch an arch based distro if you've already used a *buntu for a few years.

In the distant future I will probably move on to Gentoo but that's a whole other ballgame.

I'm on openSUSE Tumbleweed here, and I'm not moving. Ever.

The Manjaro devs forgot to renew their SSL certificate not once but twice. I appreciate their official openrc support, but that's it.
I think that OpenSUSE Tumbleweed and Void Linux are better rolling release distros, where you don't have to rely on the aur that much for obscure packages and offer an easy build system to create your own packages.

Enjoying the systemdick?

Does OpenSUSE respect my wishes to run proprietary software, such as nvidia drivers?

you know with the technical know how. You can do that on even FSF approved distros. (Just be prepared to compile n shit)

Very much so.

forum.manjaro.org/t/im-fed-up-about-manjaro-is-insecure-unprofessional-discussions/5536

So no, it wasn't them 'forgetting' to.

I'd love to try Manjaro one of these days but all three piece of shit installers for it do not properly detect dmraid partitions.

Learn to install Arch without a mouse, only the keyboard. You have not had the real GNU/Linux experience until you have done so.

Slackware.

maybe 5 years ago

Where do these new users keep coming from :^)