Web Development without pain and JavaScript

• GWT looks like a viable thing but it's said to have poop compile time and I'm not sure it can be integrated with Gradle
• TeaVM — don't know much about this one, but they too use Maven for builds instead of gradle which sucks
• pyjs — Not sure if it supports Python 3, also it probably sucks if this article is still true blog.pyjeon.com/2012/07/29/why-pyjamas-isnt-a-good-framework-for-web-apps/

What are other options? What did you try yourself?

I have some basic js knowledge but I know it sucks and I don't want to invest much time in it nor do work directly with it.
Same for CSS and HTML. Ideally I would use some GUI framework (like GTK, JavaFX, etc), which uses widgets, layouts and stuff, and it gets compiled to html+javascript.

Other urls found in this thread:

github.com/gorilla
m.youtube.com/watch?v=PV_cFx29Xz0
eloquentjavascript.net
twitter.com/AnonBabble

Django.

Gradle and maven are both trash. My only experience with GWT is with libgdx and it is an enormous pain in the ass to get external libraries working with it. You have make your own wrappers for all the 3rd party libraries yourself if you want it included with the GWT project. Not sure why you would even want to use GWT for anything except a libgdx game.

There are honestly web frameworks for basically any language now. Pick the language you like best and look at what's available. Use twitter bootstrap for design unless you need to customize things.

Just use html templates. Frameworks just make shit slower and more bloated.
Don't design your site around JavaScript, use it to enhance the usability.
Take this site for example
You'd have a template for a thread, for a board page, catalog, etc. And it works perfectly fine without JS, but with JS you have things like the quick reply box.

This is the least painful way to do web development.