Linux and my family

Im going to visit some relatives this weekend and im going to be wearing a linux penguin shirt.. theyll probably ask what linux is

so far my explanation would be linux is a free open operating system that runs on a lot of industrial machinery and other places...

as you can tell im not very good at explaining things, they are farmers and i dont want to sound like an idiot.

what should i tell my farmer relatives that linux is?

inb4 Richard stallman quotes lul

Other urls found in this thread:

gnu.org/software/guix/packages/
twitter.com/SFWRedditImages

Gnu/linux is a free (as in freedom) that lets the users of it doing anything they want and that's why it is very used in the tech world it is very safe and stable.
install gentoo

edit:
Gnu/linux is a free software

wont this make me sound nerdy as hell.. yes it will!

I just want something short and simple

also i will be giving them kodi boxes for tv. which i assume wouldnt be possible without gnu/linux

I dont mean to sound like a dick but that would definitely make me sound stupid

Don't tell them it's just for industrial machinery, because that's anything but true. Why don't you bring your laptop and show them if they're interested (which they probably won't be)?

Gnu/linux is the mascot of the tools that I use

You can tell them that Linux is an operating system, like Windows, but free. Both in the sense that it doesn't cost any money and in the sense of freedom. Anyone is allowed to improve it or fix it. Because of that it's what's used by both NASA astronauts on the ISS and computers for third-world children (OLPC), and for both supercomputers and the basis of Android for smartphones.

Kodi runs on a lot of other operating systems, and was originally developed for the Xbox, believe it or not. Most Kodi boxes run Linux though.

Doesn't SystemDOS still uses Linux for some of its functions?