Friendly reminder for pet owners

spend time with your animals you can never know when you have the last opportunity

todays the day where i had to shoot my cat.
It was around 12am where i heard my mom that he fell in a liquid manure pit (i'm a farmer).
at first i tried to help him out with a wooden plank but he couldnt reach it.
When i noticed that his head has gone under the surface for a few seconds, I brought a ladder.
I'climbed into the pit and thought that he was dead.
My mom took him on top of the ladder when I climbed out of the pit.
I took a look at him, he was barely concious but still suffering. (if a cat gets this shit in its lungs its basically over). Got my rifle from inside and ended his suffering (pic related is the shell).
My Familiy was against burying him at our ground but did it anyway (other pic the stones under the tree)

I believe that i did the right thing but it still hurts like a bitch.

Sorry for your loss, OP.

thanks for the condolences.
we live next to a busy road so "missed" cats are nothing new to me.
But this incident hits home, you know.

Never easy to lose a pet OP. I have no problem with people putting pets out of their misery if they are suffering, as long as you arent a shit shot.

Of course.
Having to put a pet down is very different from losing one.
It's bittersweet if they were in a lot of pain.

Hopefully you jerked the little guy one last time before you blasted him

I'm really sorry for your loss OP, the death of a pet is a terrible thing to go through.
You did the right thing. Not sure if you should keep the casing though, do you feel at all upset about having been the one who put him out of his misery? If not, then I suppose it'd make a decent memento.
Why?

did you shot him in the head?

iktfb