Torrenting in US/Europe

So I've heard you can actually get in trouble becuase of downloading torrents in the US and in some countries in Europe, like the your internet provider actually cares and you get a notice in mail.

So, is this real? what are most pirates doing? just using a proxy?

nice spacing faggot.

What dk?

In the US? It largely depends

I have been torrenting and pirating applications since like 2002 when I discovered Limewire and I have never received a cease and desist letter in my entire life.
It has a lot to do with how much you torrent I think. Too much of a specific kind of inbound traffic supposedly raises a red flag with your ISP.
But that's not the only factor, most of the time companies and law enforcement will not persue you if they believe it would actually cost them more money than if they were to just continue letting you pirate shit. This is the case a lot of times in fact, since going after pirates means a lot of extra costs for law enforcement and even court costs.

emule.
in that ED2K and Kad.
the russians use it. a lot of top quality shit posted.

So you just torrent normally without a proxy?

emule? it's old af
I use qbitorrent

Yeah. I think people who use proxies are very much over paranoid. Yes, there are stories where people have been arrested for torrenting. But you have to understand is these people usually had warrants for other shit too in the first place. Otherwise the police would never bother going out of their way to go after someone downloading episodes of Big Bang

So, in the case I move to america I can safetly torrent as usual?

I'm not entirely too sure how it works but I think it has to do with how much you download? I was torrenting a fucking lot this summer and was paranoid I'd get a mail or an email from my ISP, I never received anything.

It does happen to people but not as often as some would think

are you current 15 years old?

No