Functional programming thread

ITT: Share the joys of functional programming.

I'm mainly using it to work with data. It's much faster and cleaner that writing ugly loops. I'm using the R programming language (probably the best to work with data tbh).

Other urls found in this thread:

gnu.org/software/guile//guile.html
github.com/Wysaard/braiell),
github.com/Wysaard/racketfuck);
twitter.com/SFWRedditImages

emacs configuration
elisp
emacs

you're retarded

I wanted to learn FP because I'm a mathematician, so that paradigm is right up my alley. I'm working my way through SICP (currently at streams), so I'm using Racket with the SICP language. Lips is pretty nice to think and write in, but readability of code is rather awkward.

We did functional programming as the first programming course in my uni.
Really weird choice.

no u

What do people think of Guile?

Fellow mathanon here. I did SICP using Racket as well.

I've dabbled in Haskell too.

yeah, ok.

anyone has an idea how to make a program that takes two params, and returns all the characters which were used in the characters strings without showing any character twice while only having the right to use "write" ?

also how do i reproduce strdup

Haskell is how I originally found out about functional programming, but my problem was that all the Haskell books were about teaching Haskell and not FP. Of course that's the whole point of it, but it made following them really hard when the mindset had not yet settled in. SICP actually explained the concept of functional programming, so I am sticking with Scheme for now until I get through SICP.

You want to create a set. How to implement that is left to you as an exercise. Also:
Why on earth would you want to use that? Just get the plugins you want and install them individually, Vim is supposed to be a program you fine-tune to your very own needs. Getting a "just add water" plugin is the wrong way to do it.

gnu.org/software/guile//guile.html