So how many of you know raw socket programming?

So how many of you know raw socket programming?
Or socket programming at all?
What are you working on currently?

Other urls found in this thread:

github.com/carllerche/mio
talks.golang.org/2015/go-gc.pdf
docs.python.org/3/library/socket.html
twitter.com/AnonBabble

I do both. I write VPN software for a living.

How shit and untrust-worthy are VPNs?
Is Tor equally shit?

Is there any good source to learn raw socket programming?
I'm currently working on a UDP based chat program, pretty fun

Depends what you mean. Do you mean the ability to decrypt VPN traffic, the ability to DoS VPNs, or the security of your IP on hosting providers (for some reason often mixed up with "VPN")?

It's pretty much just regular socket programming plus a header, although non-shit raw socket code in the real world also uses BPF filters which is where things get fun. In most cases you'll be better served with using a tun/tap device, though. I only use raw sockets in some rare cases and I've replaced most of those with kernel hacks.

Well in the security sense, how good are they for evading ISP sniffing, time-correlation and so on - are the product themselves worthy of purchase and development

They'll stop ISP sniffing and some made for overseas use also 'prevent' TLS detection although I don't know of anyone bothering to do more than frob the handshake packets - it's just light security against non-specific layer 7 filters. Time correlation / pattern attack prevention is really a different layer of software entirely and also pretty hopeless as a magic pixie dust you can sprinkle on existing protocols, don't trust anything that claims to do that. Even custom protocols can't solve those problems /securely/ in a way you'd want to actually use. But we're probably talking about very different adversaries, here. Bittorrent through a VPN isn't going to be the target of something like that in the forseeable future, just don't run it through Tor.