Just Got Fired, Cheer Me Up

Just got fired from a 95k/yr job for taking a sick day. Now, I have to find a new job.

On the upside, I'll have some time to work on new things. Any suggestions?

Something in which you can interact with other people, those are usually the most fulfilling jobs in the end, maybe driving a cab (Or Über) or being a bartender.

I'm a STEM professional with a pretty good resume and professional network. I intend to get a new job in my field making at least somewhere near what I was making before.

become an alcoholic

Why would you choose to become an alcoholic? There are much better substances to be addicted to.

My vote's for heroin. Bit expensive maybe, but it's not too bad for you and it'll be fun at the start

employee protections are what?

I don't understand how unemployed people can afford to chase addictions. That shit's expensive.

I'm thinking some crazy designer drug would be better for getting laid, though. And expensive as shit.

The reason they gave was my "behavior over the last couple weeks". No details. No specific incidents. Just vague and general terms. I had some static with a boss (who I've known for years before this job) over his management style a couple months ago. He thinks he's running a boot camp and he's always looking for things to give people a hard time about. I tried to address this with him and how it was affecting my team and he gave me a "shape up or ship out" talk.

After that I decided to keep my head down. Spent the last couple weeks at another site with three people who I am certain are not complaining to him about my "behavior".

It's just a coincidence that I took a sick day this week on the same day as another guy at the site, causing my boss to have to pull from somewhere else on short notice.

He threw a tantrum and fired me for a reason he made up because he never stopped being pissed off at me for criticising his management model.

Get revenge.