SMT/Old Persona thread

Hey fags. I'm new to SMT. Only got partway through IV (about 60 hours or so) before my 3DS broke.
It was fun but most SMT fans here seem to hate or dislike it. After I found out about the jewish DLC system and saw how they balanced it around that, I couldn't help but have to agree.

Anyways I'd like to get more into the SMT series. I like the edginess, tension and atmosphere the game has, and the moral choices it has you make are fantastic.

Which games in the SMT franchise would you recommend playing? I'm considering playing Persona 1 or 2 (there's 2 versions or things for Persona 2, Innocent Sin and Eternal Punishment?) because I heard how it was similar to SMT in terms of difficulty and tone, but had a larger focus on characters and story and I'd like to see what Atlus would be capable of. Plus a bit of lightheartedness could take some of the edge off, not that that's necessary. If not that, then what's unbridled SMT at its finest?
Nocturne or Digital Devil Saga were ones I was considering given all that I'd seen people rave about them so greatly. How challenging are those? Are the characters and story good? Is the gameplay and dungeon crawling brutal?

I want to graduate from being a boy to a man when it comes to this franchise.

And of course, whatcha

Also what's your opinion on the Devil Survivor games? an SRPG SMT sounds like it'd be my shit.

Other urls found in this thread:

nicoblog.org/psp/persona-2-eternal-punishment/
nicoblog.org/psp/shin-megami-tensei-persona-usa/
iwakuraproductions.wordpress.com/
twitter.com/AnonBabble

what's the most beginner friendly SMT game?

Why on earth would you start the series with SMTIV, knowing the reputation it has?