RPG Maker

So this thing is heavily discounted at the moment. Is it worth getting? Have there been any decent RPG maker games? Have any been successful?

Get an actual engine, seeing all that low effort shit literally using default RPGM assets on Steam makes me want to kill myself.

Its fun to dick around with. There have been decent ones from what I've seen. To The Moon was fairly successful. It is a route into amateur gamedev, but as pointed out it is easy to make low effort retarded shit so please don't do that.

I'm surprised that's even allowed.

Cool, I'm more of an artist by trade but have had ideas for psychological horror games for a while. Still, can't code to save my life and every time I try to learn I get horribly stuck. I figured this might be a nice alternative

Not a financial success, but Yume Nikki.

Then you might want to try GameMaker instead.

You underestimate just how bad at learning the various coding languages I am. The logic and math involved just don't stick with me. I get pretty jelous of the anons in the /AGDG/.

There's a share link for it in the rpgmaker game thread. You can buy it if you want but personally I think MV actually loses the charm that earlier versions have in their presentation: If you want to make an "rpgmaker" game I'd say stick to VX or even 2003 like the nips do. If you want to make a "real" game, don't use rpgmaker.

There are already a few games in the rpgmaker horror subgenre, so it might be worth a shot for your idea since people have already shown they like that sort of thing.

Don't feel bad, coding is difficult for some people, just like art is for others.

Best advice I can give you is to work at it like you would a recipe. What do you want? A cake. How do you get a cake? You bake a bunch of ingredients in an oven. What ingredients? Repeat until you're down to raising chickens and growing grain for eggs and wheat, or if you're working with a game engine, just buying some eggs and flour.