4X

Why are there no good space 4X games being made anymore? The last good one was GalCiv2. Endless Space sucks ass, and Stellaris is even worse.

How the fuck are you supposed to finish a game of this in multiplayer? Stellaris has been my first 4X game and I'm 4 days of 8 hour sessions into it, with no resolution in sight.

This is like tabletop campaign levels of commitment. You'd have to have a set time where everyone's ready to play together at the same time weekly for a year.

Are you playing on normal speed?

I'm still learning the game, so I fast forward when I'm waiting and pause when I've got a bunch of stuff that suddenly needs putting in order. But I spend most of my time at normal speed.

Does an AI or form of automation handle any of the tasks and functions in Aurora 4X? I ask because if I have to manage the flight plans (takeoff, landing, oberth maneuvers, adjustments, etc.) of every single fucking ship and every single fucking mining operation and every single fucking piece of cargo in what is supposedly going to be an interstellar empire where every goddamn asteroid is modeled, then how the fuck is anyone supposed to play it?

Also, I'm playing with Steam workshop content that makes fortress worlds viable. My first 4 games ended to some chucklefuck on the other side of the galaxy deciding my existence is an affront and rolling an unstoppable murderblob through my systems unprovoked. Combat really seems to come down to who can spam the most units fastest, with mild consideration given to the rock/paper/scissors of energy/kinetic/missile vs shield/armor/point defense.

How old are you? And if you're legitimately getting upset by the amount of commitment required in a Paradox abortion just abandon the 4x genre now.