Dark Souls before Dark Souls

Its come to my attention that Onimusha was practically the Dark Souls before Dark Souls, Demon Souls, Bloodborne, and Nioh. I didn't really realize it until i started playing it again recently in an emulator. So why does everyone refer to games as Dark Souls clones, instead of Onimusha Clones, when Onimusha did it first? Was there an even earlier example of a dodge and strike game that relied upon collecting souls? I was so young in the early 90's I don't even remember as I wasn't allowed to play anything but Sonic until like 1998.

Because dark souls was the one that got the most popular. Also I predict nothing but shitposting to occur in this thread.

But my real question is, are there any games before Onimusha to do this?

Probably. The formula of "hard dodge and strike" is extremely general.

Nono, specifically collecting souls, dodging, timing hits, and it has to be in 3D.

You really are a jaded piece of shit if you can't notice the glaring similarities.

Is Onimusha the Dark Souls of Resident Evil?

I don't know, but it seems the shitposters have caught wind, so good luck OP.

and you aren't even trying with this shit anymore

Resident Evil doesnt coun't because you don't collect Souls and you mostly use guns. Devil May Cry is too stylish to count and really is its own genre. I'm talking slow awkward timed combat with the focus of dodging, striking, and collecting souls, leveling up, and saving at magic mirrors, shrines, bonfires etc.

Demons=Demons
Magic Mirrors=Bonfires, Shrines
Souls=Souls
Precision Combat=Precision Combat
Lockon Combat=Lock on Combat
Dodging/Blocking=Dodging,Blocking Rolling
Puzzles=Puzzles

I think you mean Demons' Souls.
I think you mean King's Field.

What's king's field? Maybe I'll give that a go too.

Those are some nice souls you're collecting.

Morrowind before Morrowind