Old Shining Series

I just started playing Shining the Holy Ark in Mednafen. Why didn't any one tell me just how shit Yabause was? It looked like the Shining games ran but now that I'm using Mednafen I'm seeing all the shit that was wrong in Yabause being correct and looking fine in Mednafen. Holy Ark is a pretty comfy dungeon crawler so far but starts off really grim. Definitely enjoy seeing SSP/Camelot's Saturn games being playable. The only bad part about Holy Ark that I can see so far is not being able to strafe in a dungeon. Otherwise it's shaping up to be a fun adventure and one I feel like isn't talked about a lot, so it feels really fresh despite it's age and that it'll probably be cliched as fuck.

Shining in the Darkness sucked, so I can't imagine Holy Ark is any better. Shining Force 1 and 2 are classics though.

I was just bidding on a copy of Shining the Holy Ark on eBay. I really want to own a copy. It looks like Proto-Golden Sun but with that Sega Saturn style of game design and graphics.

hold B and tap direction.

Climax games are Awesome
Shining 1-3+ Gaiden(s) is Awesome
Shining Soul 1-2 is Awesome

Trash listed below:
Neo
Force
Tear
Wind
EXA
and especially Wisdom
All Nintendo Sport Treasure Games (aside from Golf)
Golden Sun

Trash list (cont):
Darkness
Ark

Landstalker is also pretty good, if you can get used to the controls.

That's included in Climax games.
Land/Lady/Time/Alundra are on my top list.

Lad…

He means something like this, I assume:

Tate? My monitor can rotate that way, though I haven't found many games it's useful for.

While that's retarded, I'm a fucking idiot and this makes dungeon crawling that much better. The Saturn had shoulder buttons, not sure why they aren't used.