OpenXCom

Can we have an OpenXcom thread? I know there's already an XCOM General but it's mostly new shit.

This is my first time playing an Xcom game, it's actually my first time playing a turn based strategy game seriously. What a beautiful game, I have not been able to put it down at all. I just researched the Martian Solution and I'm a bit concerned about attacking a battleship since I tried that and my Interceptor got trashed easily. I managed to manufacture an avenger but I'm not quite sure if that's enough. Thoughts?

Also name your favorite mods.

IIRC I think an Intercepter with Plasma cannons should be tough enough to take out a battleship, but you'll be looking at repairs. Also watch out- the improved craft use Elerium for fuel.

I mean avenger.

I got the fucker and got "Cydonia or Bust" but I can't access the last mission.

You need the Avenger all ready to go- it's the only craft you're allowed to use for transport to Cydonia.

Disregard. I didn't know I had to click intercept first.

Xpirates right now. Its can be overwhelming and stressful sometimes. You have to capture a ton of units, so its less burn maim and kill and more burn main and oh hey that guys looks important better stun him.
I think the mond I ran with vanilla are the shotgun, grenade launcher, and sniper mods though I may use more at some point.

I've never played with mods, although final mod pack looks decent. It seems to follow a "everything and the kitchen sink" philosophy though since it adds not just weapons, but also new types of enemy like the men in black.

It's been a long time since I've played X-COM. Luckly I'll be going away for a while so it'll be just me and my shitty laptop with old games on it. It'll be good to get away from modern shit for a bit, I've been playing Long War for EW and despite enjoying it the retarded limitations of it get under my skin sometimes.
I hope my work and coworkers leave me time for vidya and books.