Fire Emblem: Awakening

I've been playing Awakening a fair bit as of late, currently on Chapter 15 as a total newbie to the Fire Emblem series. I've seen quite a bit of dislike for this and Fates, here and in other areas of the internet.

My question is, what are the reasons that Awakening (and Fates, though I haven't played that) get shit on so much?

My experience with the game is that the plot is profoundly 'meh', the characters are all tolerable, the gameplay is great, the UI is beautifully smooth, the difficulty on Hard/Classic (keeping everyone alive) is enjoyable without being frustrating, the graphics are quite good for 3DS, and the music is great (but not outstanding).

Are there major balance issues I haven't noticed? Were the previous Fire Emblem games just much better? If so, in what ways?

Those are my complaints with it, at least. Most of the other complaints I've heard were either nonspecific "it's casual" or "waifubait".

My condolences.

They are getting shit on in Holla Forums for being popular, that's it
They don't even like the series, they just happened to play the horrible gba fes when they were 14.

It's different, that's why.

Awakening was my entry point to the series too, it is pretty good if only for some issues with the maps, pair ups and stale plot.
Fates Conquest changed exactly these problems and they still shit on it for muh censorship which can be easily fixed by the fan patch.
They are just contrarian Holla Forums and we all know about this culture.
I would suggest playing Conquest next (with the fan translation if you want), then try Genealogy of the holy war for a different take on the series.
Path of radiance and radiant dawn are a little soulless for me.
Fire emblem blazing sword has some points but is hindered by dragging on and boring/stale gameplay.
Sacred stones is pretty irrelevant other than some waifubait characters.