Donkey Kong Country Thread

Thoughts on DKC? Which game is your favorite?
I just beat Donkey Kong 64 with 101% completion. I never really played it before. It was pretty good, but it felt a lot more like Banjo Kazooie than the SNES DKC games, especially the music.

I played through Donkey Kong Country 1 & 2 on SNES. I don't remember if I ever beat 3. Played through the 2.5D Donkey Kong Country Returns & Tropical Freeze as well. Tropical Freeze felt more like a DKC game than DK64 honestly, even without Kremlings.

Regardless, it might be nice to go back to that full-3D formula with free-roaming, exploration & even the rather tedious collectathon, but I don't think that's ever going to happen.

My favorite DKC was 2, although DKC 1 had some really great levels too so it's a close call between 1 & 2.

Other urls found in this thread:

dkc-atlas.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=33
twitter.com/SFWRedditImages

2>3>1

I'm new to the series, but I'm liking Frozen Dong so far, I hope they bring it to the Switch.

Also regarding the music, Rare's composer for the N64 was generally Grant Kirkhope, while they used David Wise for their SNES games. Grant did BK as well

Wise is overrated anyway. While Wise technically held the honorary title of Chief Composer, Eveline Fischer and Robin Beanland were the real reasons why DKC's music is so memorable. Wise's popularity and prominence is due to an overstated amount of misinformation from older nintendo forums trying to figure out why DKC's music is so good and did the typical thing of seeing the first name appear on the credits and ignore the rest of the names on the list. By himself, Wise has never really produced anything memorable but with the other two, suddenly his music is some of the best. It's a shame that it's gone this long and people still think they need him to get decent DKC tracks.

I always preferred 1 over 2 for some reason. Don't really know why, I just enjoy it more.