Why was Absolution bad?

I'm new to Hitman and I happen to also be an idiot. Absolution was my first Hitman game and I thought it was pretty alright. However, that seems to be the complete opposite case with other people who have played the series beforehand. A lot of them say Blood Money is the best one, but I haven't gotten all that far in it to really appreciate it as much as I should.

I'm also hearing Hitman, or HITMAN™, is surprisingly good. I dropped interest as soon as I saw it was episodic, but apparently once you turn off the handholding 'character can see through walls because it's a stealth game made nowadays and thinking is frustrating' mechanic and the objectives pop ups, it becomes good. So I've heard, grain of salt.

But what I want to know is why was Absolution so terrible? What makes HITMAN™ so much different than Absolution? Journalists didn't like it, and the fanbase sure as hell didn't, but I can't find any real concrete breakdown of why. Can someone help me out on this?

Yes, I know the story was shit, but I need to know why exactly.

Other urls found in this thread:

youtu.be/qHnOTig8N0c?t=9m56s
twitter.com/SFWRedditVideos

online leaderboards, broken as fuck disguises, DLC bullshit, Square-Enix having bought Eidos at that point. The list could go on

that's only the icing tho
absolution was an abomiation

Yeah, go on. I'm asking you to do so. Explain why the disguises were broken, why the DLC was bullshit.

TELL ME WHY YOU VAGUE FUCK

Except the entire game is designed around it and it becomes either a frustrating mess or something else entirely if you do.

Hitman has evolved to become a murder puzzle more than a stealth game. The mechanics imply that he's a master at social stealth. An evil James Bond if you like.
Absolution didn't understand that and wanted some kind of dramatic adventure game with hardline sneaky stealth. Like a handicapped Sam Fisher.