So I just bought a PS4

With my current setup, I've connected an Xbox 360, PS3, PS Vita, 3DS, Wii U, and several other things to the internet successfully with no issue whatsoever.

Upon purchasing a PS4 and attempting to connect to PSN, it gave me an endless amount of trouble and after much googling about I found enabling DMZ protocol for the PS4 (along with giving it a static IP address just so I don't have to hope for luck of the draw) was the only damn thing to make anything work and without doing this I can't even download shit from the playstation store.

I'm not a networking expert or anything but this strikes me as very fucking strange.

What exactly is the PS4 doing that none of the things I listed at the start of this post do, what is the PS4 asking for that none of those consoles asked for, and most importantly WHY is the PS4 doing this incredibly peculiar thing that no other fucking console does?

Long time no see, your majesty

I think this is their "anti-half piracy" measure. You can buy game, then resell it to the other person and keep playing as long as you're not connected to internet. Thanks to this measure as long as you're connected your game is fucked and you can't play it anymore. Kinda sorta form of DRM.

im not sure what you expected tbh fam

Just insert disc and play?
Yeah, that's not what consoles are for a good while now. PS2 was the last console worth owning.

We're not a damn support forum.

My shit works perfectly fine. Is it hardwired?

If not, what the fuck are you doing?

ppffffffft

Why would I need to buy consoles when I have a PC? I'll just play the same games later.

Some games are never brought to PC because of licensing bullshit.
Demon's Souls or Bloodborne will never be released on PC. Majority of Gundam games will never be released on PC. Some one off weeb games will never be released on PC.
For some people that's enough to warrant a purchase.
Not for me though, I refuse to play shit on 30 fps.