Babby Tier Tutorial:
archive.is/feKtE

Other urls found in this thread:

dwarffortresswiki.org/index.php/DF2014:Climber
dwarffortresswiki.org/index.php/DF2014:Butcher#Troubleshooting
youtu.be/4OaOyxuNx0U
dwarffortresswiki.org/index.php/DF2014:Mouse_control
twitter.com/SFWRedditGifs

I wish we could have active dwarf fortress generals.

I swear one day I'll get back into dorf fort again

bump

I wish people would just make regular DF threads and not try to stilt up an eternal general for it.

I tried Rimworld recently. I played for about 10 minutes and it only made me want to play dwarf fortress again. That was 2 weeks ago and I haven't stopped playing df since.

A regular thread is a general, dumbass

Or okay okay, instead of a Dwarf Fortress general, let's only have a thread talking about a very specific aspect of DF.

I've never used siege engines before, so I decided to set up a firing range with catapults to train up legendary siege operators. Its been going well, besides one dumbshit who walked in front of a catapult to pick up a rock and got knocked the fuck out. I've heard ballistae are great and can reduce like 4 goblins to paste in a single shot, but I haven't set them up yet so I don't know. Am I wasting my time here?

Waste of time. The only thing siege weapons are good for is killing FBs by drawing into a 1x200 corridor and very slowly wearing them down over the course of a few years with hundreds and hundreds of bolts. Everything else is more or less a waste of time.

I guess you could take out the clowns with it, but it's extremely impractical since only the ones made out of gas/liquids will die.

Siege engines are hilariously bad.
Ballista bolts don't fly in a straight line every time, the bolts can break when they come in contact with objects in its path, need to be used at close range to compensate for gravity and since the ballista operator needs to be present to fire a bolt he would run away in terror before actually firing one.