Linux zone: act 1

Now i am true lord of nogames. Well, at least as long as i have snes emulator and ability to shitpost on Holla Forums i won't die.

This is my first time experience with this system. What essential things i need to know about vidya on linux, except obvious emulators?

Other urls found in this thread:

osgameclones.com/
savagexr.com/download.html
wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Pipelight
playonlinux.com/
libretro.com/index.php/retroarch-2/
github.com/degenerated1123/REGoth
appdb.winehq.org/
playonlinux.com/en/app-486-Gothic_1.html
twitter.com/NSFWRedditGif

post the full version of that wallpaper user

I made it myself, when i was still using windows.

Cool, thanks!

90% of the worthwhile games are Windows versions played through WINE, which may or may not work well on your toaster-tier hardware, assuming it works at all. That's pretty much Linux gaming in a nutshell.

So basically the best way to play vidya on it is to rely on Wine? Okay, i'l try to configure it.

Play some Wesnoth or Warzone 2100. Also get used to things not compiling for unknown reasons at first. Learn to love repositories if you're going to stick with Debian/Ubuntu derivatives.

Wesnoth is great, i still remember how good it was when i was using mac os.

Well, i downloaded snes9x from some "repository" i guess, solely through terminal.

I haven't really seen any guides on how to get wine to work, and the man page seems uniquely unhelpful compared to the rest that I've read. I always see things about .wine folders in my home folder, but even when looking for hidden folders and files it doesn't show up, so I'm not sure if I need to create it and put whatever installer .exe in there or if I can just run the installer with wine and it'll automatically make the .wine folder and put the unpacked stuff fro the installer there.

here's the linux portion of my steam library