A Black Lives Matter Videogame

Yvvy, the designer of the upcoming Easy Level Life, knows you can’t “win” against police brutality. “The closest thing to a win condition where police brutality is concerned, is simply not being the wrong skin color,” they told me. “The game is the same way.”

Easy Level Life popped up on Twitter on Monday, the 11th, just after a week that saw two black men killed by police a day apart. Yvvy said that every time this happens, “I see the same questions: Why did they do wrong that the cops shot them? Were they listening to the cop? Why were they afraid if they didn’t do anything wrong? If the cop was afraid, didn’t they do something wrong?”

A software engineer by trade, yvvy took a few days off reSyNCh, their larger project, to turn out Easy Level Life. It’s an issue that’s not suited to traditional games, which in basic terms demand understanding of, if not victory over, their systems. Tensions between police and people of color are systemic, entrenched, and impossible to “beat.” But yvvy’s not deterred.

Other urls found in this thread:

killscreen.com/articles/easy-level-life/
archive.is/uCZS6
hitlerrpg.tumblr.com/
tribunist.com/news/harvard-study-on-police-shootings-and-race-offers-shocking-conclusion/
colorofcrime.com/2016/03/the-color-of-crime-2016-revised-edition/
full30.com/video/7e1b2a51a8ecb58d875581fc7712f9f6
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Secret_Relationship_Between_Blacks_and_Jews
twitter.com/SFWRedditVideos