Actively developed open source games

I'm a software development student, and I need to start building up a github profile to help get a good job after school. Contributing to random open source games seems like a fun way to do that. What open source games are out there that are still being developed, are unfinished, or just need programmers in general?

I know of a few, but I'm hoping to a find a game that I'm really interested in, so I have more motivation to actually contribute.

The ones I can think of are:
Endless Sky
Pioneer
Thrive
Dark Space

Other urls found in this thread:

osgameclones.com/
twitter.com/NSFWRedditGif

Platinum Arts Sandbox

Cataclysm DDA is a very active project that has a very large community of developers. They have an active IRC channel and while I don't have personal experience I don't think they're too exclusive about pull requests.

Contribute to OpenMW, Tes games are very popular it will probably look very good on your resume.

I'm not sure if I'm fully understanding the point of this, user.

I thought the dev base of Cata got overtaken by a bunch of furry degenerates? Still a good idea, though. I like that game.

This is also good, I'll look into it. Even though I hated Morrowind, and I won't be looking for a game dev job anyway so they won't know what tes is.

I guess part of being pretty open about accepting pull requests is that everyone can spread their personal degeneracy.

Go work on OpenMW, it's technically not a game but it gets a lot more publicity than pretty much any OS game since it's an extension of a very popular one.

Don't be stupid OP. Let your passion be money. There is no man on earth that is more fortunate than those who are able to live by doing their passion.

TES is pretty popular, Skyrim was like 30 million sales I think, it would hold more value than other projects listed here based on that alone.

I guess there's no point in working on a game you don't like.