Rape Culture

I'm new to leftist politics and I'm curious as to what your feelings are about rape culture. Is it real? If so, what exactly is it? I understand that sexual assaults are serious crimes that go unreported a lot but what are the material conditions that facilitate this supposed rape culture?

pic unrelated

Other urls found in this thread:

youtube.com/watch?v=8hC0Ng_ajpY
shakesville.com/2009/10/rape-culture-101.html
youtube.com/watch?v=64eI831eKY8
wavaw.ca/what-is-rape-culture/
twitter.com/NSFWRedditImage

identity politics belong in the trash

no

rich girls at liberal arts colleges getting exposed to identitarian liberalism

A rape culture is a culture in which rape is seen as at least somewhat acceptable under certain circumstances, rather than universally condemned like most parts of the world.

Yes, there are rape cultures, like some prison and military communities.

No, the West isn't a rape culture. Yes, the authorities have frequently had lukewarm responses to reports of rape, but that's because they have lukewarm responses to reports of crime in general when it's crime committed against normal civilians, especially the poor. Watch those cold case file shows on TV sometime and be appalled at how many times the police's reaction to an obviously suspicious disappearance is "they probably just ran away, fam :^)"

I've been to fucking China man.

Rape culture is real, but Western culture is not rape culture and it's offensive to represent it as such.

Are all cultures rapey? No
Are some? Yes
Are first world western countries? No
Is everyone in those cultures? No
Is anyone in cultures that are not? Yes
Does culture influence those attitudes? Yes
Is it the only cause? No
Are rape jokes rape culture? No, they usually are a satire of rapists not making fun of victims.