What if you asked the holodeck to run a simulated holodeck inside the holodeck? What would happen?

What if you asked the holodeck to run a simulated holodeck inside the holodeck? What would happen?

The computer would crash and you'd wake up free from the Matrix.

I don't see how it wouldn't be just a normal holodeck, except with the door leading back to the real holodeck.

As a programmer, I'd imagine it would work basically like a nested function. It would look exactly the same but maybe run laggy.

They actually had an episode where this happened.

You'd be the least imaginitive person to ever use the holodeck.

If a virgin fucks a holodeck character are they still a virgin afterwards?
Are the characters hard light holograms or chunks of replicated meat animated by the computer?

That happened, it was this TV show called Enterprise.

Didn't this actually happen in the show, when they were trying to outmaneuver the AI Moriarty hologram?

It was possible because everything in the holodeck is composed of holodeck matter. Meaning creating another holodeck is just asking the holodeck to render itself and objects inside it.

Afaik the only hard limit the holodeck has is matter cannot be removed from within the holodeck because it keeps it's shape and form due to emitters in the room.

I do not know why they can't just clone people from the transporter. When Dianna is going the the transporter just make a copy to work as the ship's comfort woman. Do the same for Kirk too. Hate Janeway? Clone that bitch and face fuck her for a good hour and then dematerialize her in the transporter when done. There is no moral issue either since we are dealing with space commies and murdering people is always ok.

Could the Enterprise's computer just pause the one of the simulations that is higher up and there would be no performance penalty? Why run code that is not needed?

The transporter doesn't work via cloning. A person doesn't ever lose consciousness while being transported.