How did you really start programming

How did you really start programming

1. Did you have a need for something so you started programming to get what you wanted?

2. Did you start programming projects that other people recommended that you do?

3. Other?

There was something I wanted to exist.

I was bored in middle school and taught myself basic on a TI-84

A copy of QBASIC I found on an old Windows 95 CD.
I started programming because I like the idea of telling a computer what to do and automating tedious tasks.

I guess I started with AutoIT simply in order to automate repetitive tasks.
What's the point of this data mining thread? To steal stories from some else so you can larp better?

i took a programming class taught by mr. ramjesh in 9th grade

When I was 9, my father told me to do something useful when I sit in front of the computer instead of playing games, so he handed me a book about Q-Basic (this was 20 years ago).

I used to program games back then to play with him together using the glorious MS-DOS graphics mode.

Trying to make a cool Starcraft UMS map taught me the basics of programming without actually learning any syntax.

I also started with Auto it. It has a very nice gui form maker and generally it's a stupidly easy language. There was this game I was moding and adding new items or monsters was really a hastle, each record having 30 or more variables, lots of flags crammed into one number. Each item could be upgraded from +0 To +9 so you had to do 10 copies, just with higher stats. First program I made was a generator for these kinds of things... some other converters and small tools. Now I program in c++ but I'll always have autoit in my heart

I just wanted to make a game like Sonic tbh