OOP

I'm a novice programmer, and I've been reading a lot lately about the OOP vs. procedural debate. It seems to me like the people who argue in favor of OOP are just stupid. It's easy to see how inheritance diagrams and all of that kind of shit will get out of hand. And pretty much every benefit that people attribute to OOP can be put in procedural languages as some other feature like interfaces.

That said, what has been your experience with OOP? As bad as people say? What do you think of Design Patterns, is it just pure ideology? What are some good reasons to use and OO language in spite of the downsides?

Other urls found in this thread:

ws.apache.org/xmlrpc/apidocs/org/apache/xmlrpc/server/RequestProcessorFactoryFactory.RequestProcessorFactory.html
twitter.com/SFWRedditVideos

i guess you could say it's stOOPid xD

yes object-oriented programming is retarded

OOP is good.
Never trust what a Holla Forums user says except me, they don't know what they're talking about.

the guy above me is lying
the guy below is a faggot

Sacrificing self.

OOP is fine. All languages are essentially OO, the larpers here are just too fucking stupid to understand it properly.

That said, some of the languages that are "officially" OO languages are poorly implemented. I might be speaking out of line, but I think C++ should've made member functions act as shorthand for the static equivalent. That way callbacks could be easily set without any kind of functor-type wrapper.

And OP, they're called programming "languages" for a reason. They possess the same syntactic elements, primarily nouns and verbs, that normal languages possesses. Nouns are variables/objects. Verbs are methods/functions. OO, generally, is simply the grouping of these into sensible classes.

Wait until you're not a novice to form an opinion on the subject.

go back to pajeetoverflow dot com

It really depends on how you construct the OOP. For example the inheritance tree in OP picture is full retard.