Desktop thread

desktop thread

Can't really tell what OS but looks like mint?

Autism OS

Nice, is arch linux better than mint? Thinking of changing OS, if so; list pros.

Really depends what you want in your OS. If you want it to just work stick with Mint.

What would be the cons and pros of installing and using arch?

For me
Pros
Cons

Bit of a nub, but I'll throw in my opinion for giggles n' shits.

Getting things set up with Arch is more time consuming. Even simple things such as setting up a printer over wifi is a task, where as mint already has that software ready to go. Arch was my first step into Linux, and it was a bit of a nuisance at times because of this. I've been using Arch on my work laptop for 8 months or so now though, and it's been running fine. The biggest hurdle is the install and the first week when getting everything up and running and fixing basic bugs here and there. Be prepared to get your hands a little more dirty, but once you have your basic software ecosystem installed and working, it's very nice to use.

Pacman and yaourt are nice and simple, and have pretty much everything you could ever need. The Arch wiki is incredible for any problems you run into as well. I haven't had any problems with updating causing bugs (as is the worry for using a distro that's "bleeding edge"), but only time will tell. So far Arch has ran a lot smoother with less bugs than other distros like elementary. Little bit easier to work with once you figure it out since you don't have to figure out how to reverse things that come pre-packaged in other distros.

muh games

smh hex.

go fuck yourself, you're not a 1337 hacker now assface.

nice

Never said I was a 1337 hacker. You're projecting a bit there, autist.

wut

smh tbh.

twitter speak

You must be new, one simply does not just choose one or the other. Arch and Mint are VERY different and are at two different levels of experience.