Distro?

What linux distro should I use?

Since vulcan is getting bigger and because I don't want to support the monopoly that apple and microsoft have on operating systems, AND because I'm going to college for a computer programming type of class this fall, which one is the best?

Will post things for replies.

Other urls found in this thread:

thinkpenguin.com
aryalinux.org/home/]
twitter.com/NSFWRedditImage

Kek at that pic

also check dem trips

Is mint any good? or should I just go for gentoo?

Ubuntu? I heard that one is good for beginners.
I have some knowledge of command line and some other minimal language experience, but I'm not sure which one would be really good for me.

I guess I could just use TAILS like everyone else on here.

Debian werks. Only one I've ever used. It's much more user-friendly than Windows 7 but you'll need to do a crash course to figure shit out first. Buy a Linux-friendly wifi driver first of you are going to heavily rely on wifi. thinkpenguin.com You may also want to look into Linux graphics cards too because my machine can't into 3d or video software.
Mint is an easier version of Debian and the creator is an anti-semite.
Fuck if I know about any other distros. >>>Holla Forums589254
Read the sticky.

If you're lurking and know anything about college I also have no idea what I'm doing, or what I'm going to be doing there.

Well, it depends on a lot of things. Mint will make you be a little behind the recent updates to software, more so than Ubuntu because they base on Ubuntu LTS version (the Debian version works similarly I think, could be wrong). Mint and Ubuntu hold your hand throughout the process in general, but don't stop you from getting deep into knowing Linux. Ubuntu in particular lets you be pretty up to date because they release new versions every 6 months.

Gentoo doesn't hold your hand and lets you stay up to date with software as much as you want