Embedded

I was thinking of getting into embedded development, specifically for Linux-based devices and more importantly to develop on a GNU/Linux-system. I don't want anything to do with "System development" on Window machines. But do you really have to deal with all these shitty IDE? I just want GNU/Linux + C + vim and a compiler. If you work in this field, I would like to hear more.

Other urls found in this thread:

uk.farnell.com/stmicroelectronics/nucleo-l073rz/dev-board-stm32l073rz-nucleo-32/dp/2517902
www2.keil.com/stmicroelectronics-stm32/mdk
st.com/content/st_com/en/products/development-tools/software-development-tools/stm32-software-development-tools/stm32-configurators-and-code-generators/stm32cubemx.html
youtube.com/watch?v=eE_v9I9eXXo
spin.atomicobject.com/2015/08/19/learn-embedded-systems-programming/
twitter.com/SFWRedditImages

I work in the field building network devices. We use Debian, vim, autotools, gcc, python, and bash. No IDEs.

Sounds good. Now I only need a micro controller to start tinkering with that is FLOSS.

Google for the following things:

That's probably it.

Arduino's IDE is bottom-of-the-anus fecal matter; the text editor is garbage, and the IDE only supports compiling and uploading "arduino sketches" which are absolutely shit-tier garbage with the worst performance possible.

Use gcc's avr tools and avrdude. You're so, so much better off.

Fuck arduino's shit. The hardware might be alright, but jesus god almighty is that software utterly worthless.

Is avr-gcc similar to the official IDE coding?

I hate using this Java-tier "IDE", but I still need some libraries from it

Anything is possible with judicious use of tmux

Can you give any real downsides of using them?

I do this for a living. Here's how I'd recommend getting started, a setup very like I use daily.

Buy this board: uk.farnell.com/stmicroelectronics/nucleo-l073rz/dev-board-stm32l073rz-nucleo-32/dp/2517902 This is the only thing that will cost you money.