I'm pretty new to left thought but idpol weirds me out

DemSoc in recovery here.

I just recently discovered Anarchism about 3 months ago from going out and LARPing in Berkeley.

One thing that I'm struggling with a little bit is identity politics. I'm ok with black people embracing their history or queers embracing theirs but I hate the idea of using your color, gender, sex, or anything else to gain an upper hand in a discussion.

I'm white, straight, and working class so I guess IdPol doesn't apply to me but it really pisses me off when I'm trying to have a discussion and all the sudden I get a Reddit user telling me to "check my muh privilege whitey". Ok. I checked my white cis-gendered male muh privilege. Can we now talk about how Capitalism is destroying the fucking planet and how it discriminates against everybody even ME? Just because I don't understand YOUR specific struggle doesn't mean I don't respect you any less as an individual.

Folks here seem to be pretty anti idpol but I'm hoping I can get a variety of advice here.

I guess my big problem is the idea that somehow my opinions of issues holds less value because of who I am. Its come to the point now where I feel like I have to say "I'm sorry for being white. Can I please participate in conversation about class struggle?"

I need some help comrades. What the fuck do I do?

Other urls found in this thread:

theanarchistlibrary.org/library/lupus-dragonowl-against-identity-politics
twitter.com/AnonBabble

OP here… typing from phone and apparently male got changed to muh… fml

You can't complain about victim hierarchy when being a victim is at the center of your ideology.