What do you think of CRT monitors? For anything. I've seen some professional ones around and desktop computer monitors...

What do you think of CRT monitors? For anything. I've seen some professional ones around and desktop computer monitors, but have they been surpassed yet for the common merits they are praised for like black levels, response time, etc? I've been using LCD displays for about 10 years now and I still notice how blacks are only black by contrast of the surrounding area, otherwise they appear plainly as bluish with light bulging through.

Posting in an ebin meme thread.

bumping because of goons

You're quite something, aren't you?

Industry grade CRTs still have the best color by far but for gaymen you are better off getting a 1440p / 144fps LCD.

I don't know about the for gaming aspect, since crts don't have the torn frame issue if your hardware is powerful enough, and even then something like the fw900 does 200+hz.

whats a memeposting?

Hipster shit on the same level as vinyl.

thats nice, so what do you think of the monitors themselves?

He probably doesn't think.

Long dead technology used mostly in shithole 2nd/3rd world countries with very few demonstrated benefits over modern displays, and many documented drawbacks over said modern displays such as smaller resolutions, far higher power consumption, increased eye strain and greater fire hazard.
Interested parties in moving surplus CRTs at a markup such as shippers from said countries, eBay scalpers, power companies and OP's sugar daddy are spreading the meme that they are "better" or "more authentic" than modern displays. This is thinly veiled advertising, so you should just report and ignore.

CRTs get tearing. They are even responsible for TFTs having tearing. If TFTs didn't imitate the CRTs constant refresh rate for compatibility reasons, we would have had tearing free TFTs from the beginning.