Now kids, this is why you go to a trade school, and never, ever, take a course in game development...

Now kids, this is why you go to a trade school, and never, ever, take a course in game development. Good thing I'm majoring in EECS.

Don't worry, I'm already self-employed.

Looks like the CIA has a competitor

Why did I find this so fucking funny.

Jesus christ how hilarious.

It's funny because it's true.

Unless you're learning math, hard sciences, law, medical, or law- everything else is online for free.

Likewise, you don't need higher education unless you study the above.

Gaming courses are like you wanting to build houses, but instead of learning basic construction (and later architecture), they give you less than the basics in everything from plumbing to decorating to house prices to how bungalows are ableist to news and gossip in the building world to generate "discussion".

And the "a degree proves you can learn" meme is bullshit as well.
No-one trains on the job anymore- not unless you have connections, and they need to bring your useless ass up to speed as a favor.
Otherwise- why hire the guy who doesn't know over the guy who knows?

Not that AAA games are worth working for- but even the indie studios are burned out in a year/after first release, or they make shit titles no one has ever heard of. Of course, rare cases have people who make good titles who never get the attention they deserve, and 1 in a million (literally) get smash hits. But even half of them are one-hit-wonders or promptly sell out.

AGDG explains it best.
The info is at your fingertips, but you are too lazy, stupid, or impatient to read and understand tutorials.

Then again, being a game takes 5 years to make (and your first game won't net you a decent enough income to live on alone), then it'll take you 30 years to make a decent title. Maybe.